The Municipality of Ilagan was converted into a city by Republic Act No. 10169, An act Converting the Municipality of Ilagan in the Province of Isabela into a component city known as the City of Ilagan which is further ratified by the majority of Ilagueños through a plebiscite for the cityhood of Ilagan on August 12, 2012.

As an offshoot, the City of Ilagan, through resolution No. 031-2012 of the Sangguniang Panlungsod of the City of Ilagan duly approved by its City Mayor requested for the establishment of a Schools Division of City of Ilagan to the Secretary of the Department of Education.

Hon. Armin A. Luistro, FSC, Secretary of Education approved the establishment of the Schools Division of the City of Ilagan last December 17, 2012, in pursuant to Section 48 of Republic Act 10169. The Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) was signed by Bro. Armin A. Luistro, FSC, Secretary of Education as the First Party and Jose Marie L. Diaz, DMD, City Mayor as the Second Party. The said MOA was witnessed by both Mesdames Lourdes G. Angoluan, Ph. D., CESO IV, Director III/officer-In-Charge , Office of the Regional Director of Region 02 and Lily L. Domingo, Ed. D., CESO VI, Assistant Schools Division Superintendent,

On January 11, 2012, the said MOA was implemented, the Officer in- Charge, Office of the Schools Division Superintendent, Mr. Denizon P. Domingo, Ph. D. and Officer in-Charge, Office of the Assistant Schools Division Superintendent, Mrs. Cherry S. Ramos reported for work, both are designated officers approved by the Secretary of Education.